## 1869 Annual Town Meeting Minutes

At the annual town meeting held at Palmyra Hall in the Village of Palmyra in and for the town of Palmyra on the 2<sup>nd</sup> day of March 1869

Present Presiding: M. C. Finley, James Reeves, Murganzy Hopkins – Justices Wm. W. Myrick – Town Clerk

At 8 o'clock A.M. the polls of the Town Meeting were opened by proclamation and the Electors proceeded to vote.

On motion-Voted That the Supervisors report as read be accepted and adopted. On motion-Voted- That the Highway commissioners report as read be accepted and adopted.

On motion-Voted-That the sum of \$2000 be raised by tax upon the town for the support of the poor.

We the undersigned officers presiding at the annual Town Meeting held at Palmyra Hall in the Village of Palmyra in for the town of Palmyra in the County of Wayne, State of New York on the 2<sup>nd</sup> day of March 1869

We do certify that the following persons were duly elected to the respective offices set opposite their names they having received the greatest numbers of votes for each of the said offices respectively.

Charles D. Johnson---Supervisor, Wm. W. Myrick---Town Clerk, Mark C. Finley---Justice, William Foster---Highway Commissioner, Isaac Besley---Overseer of Poor, John Walton---Assessor, Thomas Cram----Collector, Lewis D. Clark, Albert Sherman, Warren Gorton & John W. Randall---Constables. Timothy S. Jackson & Isaac G. Bronson—Inspectors of Election Dist. No.1, Wm. C. Beal & Peter C. Howell---Inspectors of Election Dist. No.2, Joseph S. Williamson---Town Sealer

And that the forgoing minutes of the said Town Meeting are in all respects correct. Dated Mar. 2<sup>nd</sup> 1869

Mark C. Finley, James Reeves, Murganzy Hopkins-Justices

Wm. W. Myrick-Town Clerk

We the undersigned presiding officers of the annual Town Meeting held in the town of Palmyra Mar. 2, 1869 do hereby appoint Joseph W. Corning in Election district No.1 and Sylvester Feller in Election district No.2 in the said town inspectors of Election in said districts respectively to be associated with the two in each of the said districts respectively who have this day been elected inspectors of Election for the ensuing year.

The said Joseph W. Corning and Sylvester Feller each being one of persons who received at the said Town Meeting the highest number of votes respectively for said office of inspector next to the inspectors so Elected

Dated Palmyra Mar. 2<sup>nd</sup> 1869

M. C. Finley, James Reeves, Murganzy Hopkins-Justices

Wm. W. Myrick-Town Clerk

I do hereby certify that the forgoing is a correct copy of the original minutes on file in this office. Wm. W. Myrick-Town Clerk

At a meeting of the Highway Commissioners of the Town of Palmyra held at the town Clerk's office March 8<sup>th</sup> 1869 the following persons were appointed Overseer of the Highways for the districts set opposite their respective names- Viz

Districts No.1 George P. Capron, No.2 Horace Pullman, No.3 Merrit Sherman, No.4 Elias Briggs, No.5 Eason Cornell, No.6 John A. Moore, No.7 Allen T. Goldsmith,

No.8 Lucius Clark, No.9 Dennis Clark, No.10 Dwight Foster, No.11 Ira Lakey, No.12 Morris D. Beadle, No.13 John Jordan, No.14 Sylvester Feller, No.15 Henry S. Durfee, No.16 Hamon Chapman, No.17 Eugene Van Alstine, No.18 Isaac Howell, No.19 Jacob Norris, No.20 Cyrenus Jagger, No.21 Gurdin T. Smith, No.22 Lorenzo Warner, No.23 A. C. Rutherford, No.24 Wm. R. Johnson, No.25 Asa K. White, No.26 John McKornn, No.27 Barzilla Smith Jr., No.28 John S. Wright, No.29 James M. Hammond, No.30 Joshua Hall, No.31 Alonzo e. Wentworth, No.32 John Harris, No.33 James Reeves, No.34 Matlby Clark, No.35 Joseph Gamble, No.36 Henry M. Clark, No.37 John Shilling, No.38 George Garlock, No.39 Philip I. Feller, No.40 Commissioner